Nebraska Wins Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by (2024)

Nebraska Wins Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by (3)

Photo by Mac Johnson

OMAHA, Neb. — Fueled by a sea of red in the stands, Nebraska edged Penn State, 2-1, in the championship game of the 2024 Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by Sunday’s final drew 13,300 fans to Charles Schwab Field Omaha.

The second-seeded Cornhuskers (39-30), who became the first team since 1995 to lose their first game and rally to capture the championship, won five games over five days to secure their first Big Ten Tournament. Nebraska also receives the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air at Noon ET Monday on ESPN2.

A pitchers’ duel produced the lowest scoring Big Ten Championship in 34 years as Penn State’s Travis Luensmann and Nebraska’s Jackson Brockett allowed only four hits and one run each over seven- and eight innings respectively.

Gabe Swansen stroked an RBI double in the top ninth to drive in the winning run. Earlier in the game, Nebraska catcher Josh Caron hit his record-setting sixth home run of the tournament to earn the Most Outstanding Player Award. Big Ten Pitcher of the Year Brett Sears entered in the ninth to nail down the win.

The eighth-seeded Nittany Lions (29-24), under first-year head coach Mike Gambino, made their first appearance in the final and placed four players on the all-tournament team.

Most Outstanding Player
Josh Caron, Nebraska

All-Tournament Team
P – Will Rogers, Michigan
P – Will Walsh, Nebraska
P – Travis Luensmann, Penn State
C – Josh Caron, Nebraska
1B – Mitch Voit, Michigan
2B – Rhett Stokes, Nebraska
SS – Michael Seegers, Iowa
3B – Bryce Molinaro, Penn State
OF – Carter Mathison, Indiana
OF – Gabe Swansen, Nebraska
OF – Adam Cecere, Penn State
DH – J.T. Marr, Penn State

Nebraska Wins Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by (2024)


Nebraska Wins Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by ›

Nebraska Wins Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by OMAHA, Neb. — Fueled by a sea of red in the stands, Nebraska edged Penn State, 2-1, in the championship game of the 2024 Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by Sunday's final drew 13,300 fans to Charles Schwab Field Omaha.

When was the last time Nebraska baseball was in the College World Series? ›

The two programs met in the College World Series on June 19, 2005 with No. 7 national seed Florida pulling out a 7-4 win over No. 3 national seed Nebraska. The Huskers then got bounced from the CWS with an 8-7 loss to Arizona State while the Gators finished as the national runner-up to Texas.

What seed is Nebraska baseball? ›

Nebraska makes its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2021. The No. 2 seed Huskers will face No. 3 seed Florida on Friday, May 31st at 2:00pm CT.

Who won the Big Ten men's baseball tournament? ›

Nebraska players celebrate after defeating Penn State to win the Big Ten baseball tournament championship on Sunday at Charles Schwab Field Omaha.

How many teams go to Omaha? ›

The field of 64 in the NCAA baseball tournament is down to 16, and by the time this long weekend is over, the eight winners of the best-of-three super regional matchups will be off to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

Why is College World Series always in Omaha? ›

Why is the College World Series played in Omaha? The first three years of the CWS weren't played in Nebraska. It spent two seasons in Kalamazoo, Michigan and a season in Wichita, Kansas. The current home can thank former Omaha mayor Johnny Rosenblatt, along with a group called "the founding fathers" in local circles.

How many years has Omaha hosted the College World Series? ›

It's a very special moment for the entire city of Omaha, which has hosted the CWS since 1950. An NCAA championship owning that sort of distinction to one location is unique. The city has done so much to make sure that not only the fans, but the players as well, have an experience they will always remember.

What is Nebraska major sports teams? ›

Professional sports
Lincoln SaltdogsBaseball1 (2009)
Omaha SupernovasIndoor volleyball1 (2024)
Omaha BeefIndoor football2 (2021, 2023)
Omaha Storm ChasersBaseball5 (1969, 1970, 1978, 1990, 2011, 2013, 2014)
6 more rows

What minor league baseball team is in Nebraska? ›

Omaha Storm Chasers
LeagueInternational League (2022–present)
DivisionWest Division
Previous leaguesTriple-A East (2021) Pacific Coast League (1998–2020) American Association (1969–1997)
Major league affiliations
21 more rows

Does Nebraska have a college baseball team? ›

Nebraska baseball coach Will Bolt speaks after his team earned the No. 2 seed at the Stillwater Regional. Florida's Michael Robertson signals to his dugout as Nebraska's Rhett Stokes looks on during an NCAA regional game Friday in Stillwater, Okla.

Is the Big Ten baseball tournament always in Omaha? ›

The Big Ten Conference announced that it has signed a three-year contract with the Metropolitan Entertainment & Convention Authority to hold the Big Ten Baseball Tournament Presented by at Charles Schwab Field Omaha through 2027.

Why doesn't Uw Madison have a baseball team? ›

UW-Madison had to cut the program in 1991 for financial reasons. In order to bring the program back, UW-Madison would need to add a women's sport in addition to baseball to keep in compliance with Title IX. Title IX exists to keep opportunities fair for both genders.

How many big ten teams make the baseball tournament? ›

The Big Ten Tournament features an eight-team, six-day, double-elimination format.

How many seats are in the Omaha baseball stadium? ›

The stadium has seating for 24,000 fans, including three decks of general grandstands, bleacher seating lining the outfield and club seating for 2,500 members, with special access to three, full-service food stations will draw parties and groups to the facility.

Has Omaha ever made the NCAA tournament? ›

The Mavericks hockey program was started in 1997; the team has qualified for the NCAA tournament on four occasions, in 2006, 2011, 2015, and 2021.

Who won the 1965 College World Series? ›

The College World Series, held for the nineteenth time in 1965, consisted of one team from each of eight geographical districts and was held in Omaha, Nebraska at Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium as a double-elimination tournament. Arizona State claimed the championship.

How many baseball teams go to the College World Series in Omaha? ›

The NCAA Division I baseball tournament is a 64-team tournament in the spring. After two rounds of play (which each consist of multiple games), there are just eight teams left. These eight teams then head to Omaha, Nebraska, for the Men's College World Series.

Who won the Omaha World Series? ›

Ole Miss won the 2022 Men's College World Series in two games over Oklahoma. Omaha, Neb.

Who pitched in a College World Series and World Series in the same year? ›

Finnegan became the first player to play in a College World Series and an MLB World Series in the same year when he took the mound in the seventh inning of Game 3 of the 2014 World Series against the San Francisco Giants.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Van Hayes

Last Updated:

Views: 5771

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (66 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Van Hayes

Birthday: 1994-06-07

Address: 2004 Kling Rapid, New Destiny, MT 64658-2367

Phone: +512425013758

Job: National Farming Director

Hobby: Reading, Polo, Genealogy, amateur radio, Scouting, Stand-up comedy, Cryptography

Introduction: My name is Van Hayes, I am a thankful, friendly, smiling, calm, powerful, fine, enthusiastic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.